Yorkshire Chess Association Year Book




Calendar of Events Ė Results/Reports


 I<< Year Book Home


Accuracy of club information &

Yearbook: further copies &

YCA Honorary Life Members &

Yorkshire Individual Championship 2018

Message from the President

Officers 2017-18

Annual Fees

County Match Fees & Petrol Allowance

Junior Contacts

YCA League Match Venues

Secretaries of Competing Clubs

Match Correspondents ‑ Woodhouse Cup

Match Correspondents ‑ IM Brown

Match Correspondents ‑ Silver Rook

YCA League Fixtures 2017-2018

ECF Game Fee Changes &c

Joining the ECF

Standard-play Grading Trends 2002-17

Notes on the YCA Grading List

Results Graded July 2016 to June 2017

YCA Grading List

Yorkshire Junior Reports

Correspondence Chess Report

U-160 Captainís Message

2016-17 League Tables & Match Results

County Match Result Summary

English County Finals 2017

English County Championship 1921

Recent Winners of YCA Events

Constitution and Rules

YCA League Rules

Index to Rules

Individual Championship Rules

Contact Details Index

Event Calendar 2017-18



Bradford Congress 2017

15-17 September 2017

Latvian Welfare Club, Clifton Villas, off Manningham Lane, Bradford, BD8 7BY


Open Section Results

Major Section Results

Minor Section Results


Summary by Steve Mann, 19/09/2017


Participants in the Bradford Congress were down in number from 102 to 85, which is hardly surprising as now, in this part of the calendar, on seven out of nine consecutive weekends there is either a weekend congresses or one-day rapidplay in Yorkshire!


The Open section was won by Peter Shaw of Wakefield, with an impressive score of 5 out of five.


Peterís round-by-round wins were:

round 1, win with White v. Ray Ilett (Peterborough);

round 2, win with Black v. Chris Wright (Alwoodley);

round 3, win with White v. Mike Bramson (Pudsey);

round 4, win with Black v. Ali Jaunooby (Denton);

round 5, win with White v. Mike Surtees (Great Lever).


Other leading contenders in the Open were Tim Wall (Forest Hall), Phil Watson (Calderdale) and Jim Burnett (Ecclesall).