Yorkshire Chess Association Year Book


< previous page next>


Message from the President


 I<< Year Book Home


Accuracy of club information &

Yearbook: further copies &

YCA Honorary Life Members &

Yorkshire Individual Championship 2018

Message from the President

Officers 2017-18

Annual Fees

County Match Fees & Petrol Allowance

Junior Contacts

YCA League Match Venues

Secretaries of Competing Clubs

Match Correspondents ‑ Woodhouse Cup

Match Correspondents ‑ IM Brown

Match Correspondents ‑ Silver Rook

YCA League Fixtures 2017-2018

ECF Game Fee Changes &c

Joining the ECF

Standard-play Grading Trends 2002-17

Notes on the YCA Grading List

Results Graded July 2016 to June 2017

YCA Grading List

Yorkshire Junior Reports

Correspondence Chess Report

U-160 Captain’s Message

2016-17 League Tables & Match Results

County Match Result Summary

English County Finals 2017

English County Championship 1921

Recent Winners of YCA Events

Constitution and Rules

YCA League Rules

Index to Rules

Individual Championship Rules

Contact Details Index

Event Calendar 2017-18



Writing this shortly after the completion of the 2017 British Championships the first thing to do is to congratulate Gawain Jones on once again winning the British Championship.  Gawain (and Sue) moved to Sheffield a few months ago so we have a resident British Champion.  Unusually next year’s venue has not been announced yet (the contract with the venue has yet to be signed) but rumour has it that it is to be in Hull.  If this is confirmed it will add to the already amazing amount of congress chess available in Yorkshire – at least 15 events in 2017.


Congratulations to York A on narrowly winning the Woodhouse Cup once again despite losing heavily to Sheffield in a very close race this year.  Bradford Central and Doncaster won division 2 and 3 respectively but the runners up (securing second promotion place) in each were York teams – an extremely successful year for York.


County matches: The U-160 competition was won by Yorkshire, beating Lancashire 9˝-6˝ in the final.  Well done to Rupert Jones and all who played.


The Open team was fortunate to recruit Peter Ackley as Captain following Mark Birkin’s retirement.  We once again beat Lancashire in the NCCU stage t became NCCU champions.  We met Lancashire again in the national final in July and agonisingly lost on board count in an 8-8 draw.


For the first time for a number of years we were able to field an U-140 team when David Mills volunteered to run it.  A successful season saw them reach the national semi-final stage where they lost narrowly 7˝-8˝ to Nottinghamshire.


It was disappointing (and frustrating) that fewer than 10 people turned up for the AGM in June, so we were without a quorum.  This does not mean the YCA ceases to exist so the committee continues as before except that Noel Stewart has volunteered to replace Ihor Lewyk on his retirement.  My thanks to Ihor for all his work over many years.  There were a number of rule changes proposed but no decisions could be taken owing to the lack of a quorum.  It must be admitted that spending a June Saturday afternoon at the YCA AGM is not the most riveting entertainment but decisions do sometimes need to be taken and this can only be done at an AGM.  Years ago we could expect 30-40 people present but meetings have only just had a quorum for several years now.  Perhaps people with a grievance now just relieve their feelings on internet forums.  I would like to appeal for each club to send a representative next year.

Jim Burnett