Yorkshire Chess Association Year Book


next page>


Inside Front Cover


 I<< Year Book Home


Accuracy of club information &

Yearbook: further copies &

YCA Honorary Life Members &

Yorkshire Individual Championship 2018

Message from the President

Officers 2017-18

Annual Fees

County Match Fees & Petrol Allowance

Junior Contacts

YCA League Match Venues

Secretaries of Competing Clubs

Match Correspondents ‑ Woodhouse Cup

Match Correspondents ‑ IM Brown

Match Correspondents ‑ Silver Rook

YCA League Fixtures 2017-2018

ECF Game Fee Changes &c

Joining the ECF

Standard-play Grading Trends 2002-17

Notes on the YCA Grading List

Results Graded July 2016 to June 2017

YCA Grading List

Yorkshire Junior Reports

Correspondence Chess Report

U-160 Captain’s Message

2016-17 League Tables & Match Results

County Match Result Summary

English County Finals 2017

English County Championship 1921

Recent Winners of YCA Events

Constitution and Rules

YCA League Rules

Index to Rules

Individual Championship Rules

Contact Details Index

Event Calendar 2017-18



Accuracy of club information


Details of competing clubs are the latest supplied at the time of going to print. Where a club’s details are different from those published here, it is that club’s responsibility to communicate such changes to its opponents and the league secretary.



Yearbook: further copies


Further copies of this yearbook may be obtained (while stocks last) at a cost of £2.50 each, post free, from:


Steve Burton, 4 Osbourne Court, Back Lane, Bramley, Leeds LS13 4BN.


Please make cheques payable to Yorkshire Chess Association.



YCA Honorary Life Members


P R Bielby

J Hamm

H Mitchell

R G Bond

S M Johnson

J A Porter

R B Burgess

M J Kent

P D Rooney

P Cloudsdale

I Lewyk

A B Slomson

A Dawson

S J Mann

D W Smith

J Duckworth

D R Markham

A Toothill

M J Dow

D H Milton *

M White

P C Gibbs

K M Milton

R White


(* Since publication, Dave Milton died December 2017)


Congress rota for hosting the Yorkshire Individual Championship


It is current practice to embed the Yorkshire Individual Championship in one of the local weekend congresses (subject to the organisers’ agreement), awarding the title to the highest placed eligible player in the Open section.  The cycle determined for 2018 onwards, subject to possible later revision if, for instance, a congress folded, or a new one arose, is:


2018 Scarborough

2019 Huddersfield

2020 Sheffield

2021 Doncaster

2022 Bradford

2023 Leeds

2024 Hull


The 2017 Yorkshire Championship was awarded to Hull (27th-29th October).