Yorkshire Chess Association


Year Book 2018-19 Contents

Calendar of Events – Results/Reports


 Message from the President

Officers 2018-19

Annual Fees

County Match Fees & Petrol Allowance

Junior Contacts

YCA League Match Venues

Secretaries of Competing Clubs

Match Correspondents ‑ Woodhouse Cup

Match Correspondents ‑ IM Brown

Match Correspondents ‑ Silver Rook

YCA League Fixtures 2018-2019

ECF Game Fee Changes &c

Joining the ECF

Standard-play Grading Trends 2002-18

Notes on the YCA Grading List

Results Graded July 2017 to June 2018

YCA Grading List

Yorkshire Junior Reports

Correspondence Chess Report

U-160 Captain’s Message

2017-18 League Tables & Match Results

County Match Result Summary

English County Finals 2018

Recent Winners of YCA Events

Constitution and Rules

YCA League Rules

Index to Rules

Individual Championship Rules

Contact Details Index

Event Calendar 2018-19



British Knock-Out Championship


Keighley-born, Sheffield-resident Gawain Jones won the British Knock-Out Championship which was run alongside the 2018 “London Chess Classic” (run by Chess in Schools and Communities), from 9th to 17th December 2018.  Paired players played 2 games at 90 minutes per game with a 30-second increment per move.  If that gave a tie, then two rapid-play games at 10 minutes per game with a 5-second increment per move were played.  If there was still a tie, then a single “Armageddon” tie-break was to be played, but that seems not to have arisen.


Winners of a preliminary round joined the top 4 seeds for the subsequent rounds.


Preliminary Round








Jonathan Hawkins

Jonathan Hawkins


Jovanka Houska


Luke McShane




Luke McShane




Luke McShane


Sean Williams

2nd - £10,000


Sean Williams




Harriet Hunt




Michael Adams





Michael Adams




Gawain Jones

1st - £15,000

David Howell





David Howell



Ravi Haria




Ravi Haria




Matthew Turner



Gawain Jones



Gawain Jones





Gawain Jones


Alan Merry


Alan Merry


3rd‑4th Play‑off

John Nunn

Michael Adams



Michael Adams

3rd - £6,000

David Howell


4th - £4,000