Yorkshire Chess Association


Year Book 2018-19 Contents

Calendar of Events – Results/Reports


 Message from the President

Officers 2018-19

Annual Fees

County Match Fees & Petrol Allowance

Junior Contacts

YCA League Match Venues

Secretaries of Competing Clubs

Match Correspondents ‑ Woodhouse Cup

Match Correspondents ‑ IM Brown

Match Correspondents ‑ Silver Rook

YCA League Fixtures 2018-2019

ECF Game Fee Changes &c

Joining the ECF

Standard-play Grading Trends 2002-18

Notes on the YCA Grading List

Results Graded July 2017 to June 2018

YCA Grading List

Yorkshire Junior Reports

Correspondence Chess Report

U-160 Captain’s Message

2017-18 League Tables & Match Results

County Match Result Summary

English County Finals 2018

Recent Winners of YCA Events

Constitution and Rules

YCA League Rules

Index to Rules

Individual Championship Rules

Contact Details Index

Event Calendar 2018-19



Yorkshire Junior Chess Day

(Click here for photos by Steve Westmoreland)


A “Yorkshire Junior Chess Day” was held on Saturday 20th October 2018, at Upperthong Junior School Holmfirth.  It was organised by White Rose Junior Chess Academy.  The local MP, Thelma Walker, kindly opened the event.  She is an ex headmistress and keen chess-player.


The well-known chess teacher from London, Lateefah Messam-Sparks, led the chess tuition and held a session where children were told how she developed her chess career.  A good game by Harriet Hunt v Richard Bates was shown on the display board.


We had two Swiss-system competitions: Section A- for beginners and those playing for only a short time, and Section B for more‑advanced players, results being as follows.


Section A, with 22 players



Siddarth Babu (Wakefield)


2nd =

Joseph Shepherd (Sheffield), Thomas Goodrum (Nettherton), Charlie Baldwin (Wakefield)


5th =

Daniel Weir (Netherton), Shreeyash Dash (Wakefield)

Merit awards

Patrick Emeny (Netherton), Eva Donegan (Leeds) and Alexander Ross (York)


Section B, with 22 players



Dylan Whitney (Stoke-on-Trent)



Oliver Tate (Sheffield)


3rd =

Ben Wood (Sheffield), Krish Daru (Wakefield), Bradley Triffitt (York), Sean Kiddie (Holmfirth)

Merit awards

Natasha Pointon (Thirsk), Zorava Sandhill (Wakefield), Jude Daniel Smith (Sheffield)


All players received a certificate and chess badge.


Thanks for support from Chess and Bridge and the School, also helpers on the day: Steve Westmoreland, Nicky Thompson and Noel Stewart from York.


An enjoyable day had by all.


Peter Cloudsdale, York, 21.10.2018