Yorkshire Chess Association


Year Book Contents

Inside Front Cover


 (Click on underlined link)  \/ to end of list \/


Accuracy of club information &

Yearbook: further copies

Message from the President

Officers 2019-20

YCA Honorary Life Members

Annual Fees (as revised 2019)

County Match Fees (as revised 2019)

YCA League Fixtures 2019-2020

YCA League Match Venues

Match Correspondents ‑ Woodhouse Cup

Match Correspondents ‑ IM Brown

Match Correspondents ‑ Silver Rook

Secretaries of Competing Clubs

Junior Chess Contacts

Contact Details Index

Chess Clubs/Organisations in Yorkshire

ECF Aug 2019 Grading List Extract

Notes on Grading List Extract

List of Clubs in Yorkshire-based Leagues

League Tables & Match Results 2018-19

County Match Results 2018-2019

Correspondence Chess 2018-19

Yorkshire Junior Activity 2018-19

Recent Winners of YCA Events

YCA Constitution

YCA League Rules (as revised 2019)

Index to Rules

Individual Championship Rules

Event Calendar 2019-20

Yorkshire Individual Championship 2020

/\ back to top /\



Accuracy of club information


Details of competing clubs are the latest supplied at the time of going to print. Where a club’s details are different from those published here, it is that club’s responsibility to communicate such changes to its opponents and the league secretary.



Yearbook: further copies


Further copies of this yearbook may be obtained (while stocks last) at a cost of £2.50 each, post free, from:


Steve Burton, 4 Osbourne Court, Back Lane, Bramley, Leeds LS13 4BN.


Please make cheques payable to Yorkshire Chess Association.



YCA Honorary Life Members


P R Bielby

A J Griffith

J A Porter

R G Bond

J Hamm

P D Rooney

R B Burgess

S M Johnson

A B Slomson

S Burton

R Jones

D W Smith

P Cloudsdale

M J Kent

A Toothill

A Dawson

I Lewyk

M White

J Duckworth

S J Mann

R White

M J Dow

D R Markham


P C Gibbs

K M Milton




Congress Rota for Hosting the Yorkshire Individual Championship


The 2020 Yorkshire Championship was awarded to Doncaster (late February, 2020).


It is current practice to embed the Yorkshire Individual Championship in one of the local weekend congresses (subject to the organisers’ agreement), awarding the title to the highest placed eligible player in the Open section.  The cycle determined for 2018 onwards, subject to possible later revision if, for instance, a congress folded (Sheffield has since been removed), or a new one arose, was:


2021 Bradford

2022 Leeds

2023 Hull

2024 Scarborough

2025 Huddersfield

2026 Doncaster