Yorkshire Chess Association

next page>


Inside Front Cover


 I<< Year Book Home


Accuracy of club information &

Yearbook: further copies &

YCA Honorary Life Members &

Yorkshire Individual Championship 2019































Accuracy of club information


Details of competing clubs are the latest supplied at the time of going to print. Where a club’s details are different from those published here, it is that club’s responsibility to communicate such changes to its opponents and the league secretary.



Yearbook: further copies


Further copies of this yearbook may be obtained (while stocks last) at a cost of £2.50 each, post free, from:


Steve Burton, 4 Osbourne Court, Back Lane, Bramley, Leeds LS13 4BN.


Please make cheques payable to Yorkshire Chess Association.



YCA Honorary Life Members


P R Bielby

A J Griffith

K M Milton

R G Bond

J Hamm

J A Porter

R B Burgess

S M Johnson

P D Rooney

P Cloudsdale

R Jones

A B Slomson

A Dawson

M J Kent

D W Smith

J Duckworth

I Lewyk

A Toothill

M J Dow

S J Mann

M White

P C Gibbs

D R Markham

R White



Congress rota for hosting the Yorkshire Individual Championship


It is current practice to embed the Yorkshire Individual Championship in one of the local weekend congresses (subject to the organisers’ agreement), awarding the title to the highest placed eligible player in the Open section.  The cycle determined for 2018 onwards, subject to possible later revision if, for instance, a congress folded (Sheffield has since been removed), or a new one arose, was:


2019 Huddersfield (25th-27th May, 2019)

2020 Doncaster

2021 Bradford

2022 Leeds

2023 Hull

2024 Scarborough


The 2018 Yorkshire Championship was awarded to Scarborough (26th-28th October, 2018).