Yorkshire Chess News

 

 I<< HOME

Notices

14/03/2024

Yorkshire League Rule A12

 

Following on from an investigation of whether Rule 16 was being correctly observed as regards legitimacy of board order with regard to rating, the webmaster this morning knocked up a program to test adherence to Rule 12.  This covers two partially related possible misdemeanours.

 

The second part provides that where a “C.M.” (=club) has more than one team in a division then they must be ranked hierarchically before the start of the season (“A” is senior to “B” etc is perhaps assumed), then a player playing on board 4 or above of one team bars that player for the rest of the season from playing for the C.M’s lower-ranked teams in that division.  Affected clubs are likely to be well aware of this provision, and the good news is that there have been no violations of this part of Rule A12 this season to date.

 

The first part of the rule provides that a player may not play for more than one “C.M.” (=club) in the same division in a given season.  This is the older element and the phrase “same division” harkens back to when there were only the Woodhouse Cup and the I. M. Brown coming into consideration,n and the separate competitions’ fixtures were held on different weekends.  Thus, you could play regularly both for one club in the Woodhouse Cup and another club in the I. M. Brown.  An example of a player exercising this right was Toni Loftus, as she was known before getting married.  She played for Bradford in the Woodhouse Cup and for Keighley in the I. M. Brown.  In theory, you may still adopt this approach, though the fact that broadly speaking divisions are all playing at the same time makes it impractical.  Nevertheless, the writer who has hitherto this season represented Doncaster in the Silver Rook could nevertheless legitimately play for Sheffield B in the I. M. Brown (though Rule A13 might preclude it in some cases), but not for another Silver Rook team.  So, has the first provision of rule A12 been violated this season?  The answer, sadly, is “Yes”!

 

Without naming names, a certain player played a game for team A on the first match day of the season but subsequently has not played again for team A but has however subsequently played in four matches for team B (from a different club).  Under Rule A12, team B would lose all match points and game points from those four matches.  The first match for team B, if information received is correct, violated Rule A13 as well!!  Of course, the captain of team B was probably not aware that the player had already played for team A, so the prescribed penalty, if applied now as technically it should, would be unfortunate for team B.

 

A member of the club to which team A belongs has been advised, and he says he will advise the Competitions Controller and “cede” the player concerned to team B.  This is of course suspending the official rules and creating a new one (transference of players) on the hoof.  The Sheffield & DCA has a rule permitting the transference of a player from one club to another mid-season, so maybe the YCA committee, or a rules revision sub-committee, might consider such mid-season transference of players.

 

Monitoring league rules such as these is extremely arduous.  The writer had to maintain extensive systematic manual records to monitor such things when he was an S&DCA “Assistant Secretary, League” in a previous century.  That was before the advent of personal computers whereafter such things became much easier if you had the necessary programming skills.  In this case, spotting the first game for team B would have nipped things in the bud.

 

Back to the good news, the program was also testing for violations of Rule A14 and no such violations were found.