Yorkshire Chess News





ECF Awards 2023


Two Yorkshire-based recipients are listed among winners of ECF Awards for 2003, namely Leeds Junior Chess Club as Club of the Year and Rupert Jones as recipient of a Presidentís Award for Services to Chess.


Citations can be found on the ECF website at https://www.englishchess.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/ECF-Awards-2023.pdf.


The full list of winners is as follows:


Presidentís Award for Services to Chess:

Bob Jones


Rupert Jones


Alex McFarlane


Peter Purland


Kevin Staveley

Contribution to Chess in the Community:

Greenwich Peninsula Chess Club

Contribution to Junior Chess:

Chris Lewis

Contribution to Womenís Chess:

Caroline Robson

Club of the Year:

Leeds Junior Chess Club

Small Club of the Year:

Ringwood Chess Club

Congress of the Year:

University of Warwick


Winners each receive a glass trophy, £250 from the Chess Trust to support their club or organisation (except Presidentís Award winners), and entitlement to use the winnerís logo.


Chairman of the Awards committee is Stephen Greep of Hull.