Yorkshire Chess Association



Yorkshire Championship Cycle





Congress Rota for Hosting the Yorkshire Individual Championship


The 2020 Yorkshire Championship was awarded to Doncaster (late February, 2020), which duly took place before Covid-19 brought over-the-board activity to a halt.


It is current practice to embed the Yorkshire Individual Championship in one of the local weekend congresses (subject to the organisers agreement), awarding the title to the highest placed eligible player in the Open section.  The cycle determined for 2018 onwards, subject to possible later revision if, for instance, a congress folded (Sheffield has since been removed), or a new one arose, was:


2021 Bradford

2022 Leeds

2023 Hull

2024 Scarborough

2025 Huddersfield

2026 Doncaster